The city of Vladivostok is located on the Muravyev-Amursky peninsula and is washed by the waters of two bays – the Amur and Ussuriysky, as well as the Golden Horn Bay. The excursion route starts from the railway station and ends at the Ship’s Quay.
Vladivostok station is symbolic. He puts an end to the Trans-Siberian Railway and BAM. On one of the platforms there is a mark “9288” – exactly the number of kilometers that the train No. 1 “Russia” passes from Moscow to Vladivostok.
At the same time, it is an exact copy of the Moscow Yaroslavsky railway station. The author of the project was the architect E. Bazilevsky, who took part in laying the station building and laid the first stone of the building.
The ceremonial dedication of the station took place on November 2, 1893. Initially it was a stone building with an iron roof, in the middle part – a one-story, on the edges – a two-story. The floors in the building were laid with clay Japanese plates, which have survived to the present day.
In 1912, the station in Vladivostok was expanded and built up, creating architecturally finished stations at both ends of the trans-Siberian railway. The original building became one of the parts of the new station.
After the restoration, which lasted from 1994 to 1996, the building acquired almost the same appearance that it had in pre-revolutionary times.
From 1924 to the present day, the appearance of the building is constantly changing: relief images of glazed ceramics were replaced by Russian folklore and fairy tales. The station was repeatedly painted by famous artists, whose work even today all the guests of the station can contemplate.
The building in which the Gallery is located is an architectural monument. Built in 1899 – 1903, the author of the project was P.E. Bazilevsky, a military engineer. Initially, this building housed a branch of the Russian-Asian Bank, the board of which was located in Moscow.
The central building of the art gallery is located in the historical part of the city, near the Maritime and Railway Station, the VK Arsenyev Museum and the central square of Vladivostok.
The seaside art gallery was opened in Vladivostok on June 29, 1966. The gallery was formed at the collections of the art department of the museum named after V.K. Arsenyev.
Back in the 1930s of the twentieth century, art works from the State Russian Museum, the State Tretyakov Gallery, the Museum of the Academy of Arts, the Hermitage, came to Vladivostok. To present these artistic values for all to see, a regional museum was created with a unique collection.
Primorsky State United Museum named after V.K. Arsenyev was founded in 1884 as a museum of the Society for the Study of the Amur Region. Open to visitors on September 30, 1890.
The main funds of the museum were laid at the end of the 19th century. ethnographic, archaeological collections, in the formation of which prominent researchers took part: F.F. Busse, V.P. Margaritov, L.Ya. Sternberg, M.I. Yankovsky, V.K. Arsenyev. In 1900 the museum was awarded two bronze medals at the World Exhibition in Paris for ethnographic collections.
On September 4, 1945, the museum was given the name of a Russian traveler, geographer, ethnographer, and researcher of the Far East, Vladimir Klavdievich Arsenyev. On November 25, 1985, the Primorsky Regional Museum of Local Lore was reorganized into the Primorsky State United Museum named after V.K. Arsenyev.
Today, the museum site is a large-scale and informative exhibition space, operating according to the principles of turnover, mobility, mixing traditional and new museum technologies. The religious objects of the state of Bohai and the Golden Empire of the Churchens are unique. The artifacts of the discovery of the Far Eastern lands, the resettlement and development of these territories are curious.
The central square of Vladivostok is interesting for tourists because it offers a stunning view of the historic three of the city. This is the Ocean Avenue, decorated from all sides with beautiful buildings – monuments of architecture. Hence, a magnificent view of the Golden Horn Bay, with its impressive panorama (and, if lucky, with the presence of the famous sailing ships “Pallas” or “Hope” on it). The third component is, of course, a monument to the fighters for Soviet power in the Far East. The latter deserves special attention.
The monument has been standing on the central square of Vladivostok since 1961, since then it has always been one of the main symbols of the city. For 15 years the honored artist of the RSFSR, Moscow sculptor Alexei Tenet, worked on the creation of bronze giants.
In the center of the ensemble on a granite pedestal stands the figure of a fighter of the People’s Revolutionary Army of the Far Eastern Republic. Along the edges of the sculpture are two more monuments, the first of which is dedicated to the revolution of 1917, and the second to the partisans who fought in the civil war of 1922.
In the western part of the square is a white house – the building of the Administration of Primorsky Krai. In the east – stele “City of Military Glory” towers with a double-headed eagle on top. Next to the stele is a new cathedral.
In the central square of Vladivostok, all city festivals take place, free concerts are organized for citizens. On weekends, the traditional fair is located here, where local producers offer their products – vegetables, fruits, milk.
This is one of the most beautiful and majestic historical buildings not only of Svetlanskaya Street, but also, perhaps, of all of Vladivostok. Literally all materials for construction were transported by sea from Europe: 124 steel beams with a total weight of 55 tons, 25 tons of colored tiles for the floor, 2000 sheets of roofing iron, cement. They even brought stoves and wrought-iron doors, brick and tile. The first stone store in the history of the city opened its doors for customers on April 1, 1884. At the beginning of the twentieth century, the building of the trading house was restored and acquired the look that has been preserved to this day. The store improvement level was unprecedented for Vladivostok of that time: its own electric lighting, steam heating, telephones, elevator. Inside they installed massive staircases with wrought iron railings that have survived to the present day. and the other, the winged rod of the ancient god of commerce, Mercury. The Kunst and Albers trade house, whose history is as great as it is dramatic, ceased operations in 1930. Since 1931, a city universal store has been functioning in the building. In 2009, an interesting museum opened in Vladivostok GUM, featuring unique exhibits on various periods in the history of the oldest commercial enterprise in the Far East. Here you can see a massive table at which the founders of the Kunst and Albers trading house a century and a half ago worked. And there is an account book on it, where the records of 1901 were kept. Among the museum exhibits – and shaped facing brick, brought from Hamburg in 1906 for the reconstruction of a commercial building.
The building was erected in the period from 1897 to 1899. Alexander Gvozdiovskiy, the famous architect of that time, worked on its construction.
Initially in this house there was a telegraph office. The building of the Vladivostok Central Post Office was carried out in the classic Russian style, and somewhere it resembles the construction of Russian fairy tales. The design attracts citizens not only with its magnificent content, people working there, but also a delightful appearance.
The main highlight in the history of the building of the Vladivostok Central Post Office is that it was not handed over to other needs and not rebuilt, as is the case with most buildings.
Until 1873, the area where the main headquarters of the Siberian flotilla was located belonged to Gummel, a native of Germany. In 1873, he sold the land to the military department of the port, and a wooden building of the Mariinsky Women’s College was built here.
In 1909–1911, the building of the Main Naval Staff of the Siberian Flotilla was built according to the project of Colonel-Engineer I. A. Zaborovsky. Like all state-owned buildings of Vladivostok of that time, it was decided in the classical style.
Initially, the building was three-storey, L-shaped, with a long side along Svetlana and a short one along Peter the Great Street. For a long time, the building of the Main Naval Staff remained the dominant architectural ensemble of this part of Vladivostok.
The building remained in its original form until 1938. In 1938–1944, the building was built on two more floors and rebuilt according to the design of architect A.I. Poretskova in accordance with the canons of Soviet architecture of the 1930s – 1940s.
At the same time, the author retained the plastic and decor of the old part of the building, but changed its corner part. He attached to the main entrance a loggia with an arched portal, and above it – an elegant colonnade. The project of restructuring is one of the most worthy examples when the old building has not changed its appearance and has not been disfigured.
After the establishment of Soviet power in Primorye in 1922, the building housed the party and Soviet organs: the VKP and provincial executive committee, the Primorsky Regional Committee of the Party, from October 1938 to 1983 – the Primorsky Regional Committee of the VKP (b) (later – the CPSU), in 1983–1990- x years – Primorsky Krai Committee of the Komsomol.
Николаевские триумфальные ворота, за которыми среди горожан закрепилось название Арка Цесаревича, находятся в центре города, рядом с Корабельной набережной.
The history of this monument begins in January 1891, when it became known about the upcoming visit to the city by the heir to the throne, Tsarevich Nikolai Alexandrovich Romanov. Vladivostok City Council, considering the issues of preparation for the distinguished guest meeting, decided to build a “stone triumphal gate” in his honor.
The project was developed by urban architect V. Konovalov. In March of the same year, construction began, for which the city allocated 5,000 rubles, the Merchant Society added another 4,000.
The Triumphal Arch was built in the “Russian style”, characteristic of such buildings of the late 19th – early 20th centuries. From the very beginning, it symbolized the sea gates of Vladivostok, through which the future emperor was to solemnly enter the city. And so it happened: on May 12, 1891, under the arches of the arch, the mayor of Makovsky met Crown Prince Nicholas with traditional bread and salt on a silver platter.
During the Soviet period, the Arc de Triomphe underwent a number of changes. In 1923, all monarchical emblems and symbols were removed from it, and the arch itself was renamed Komsomolskaya. And in 1930, it was dismantled as an object that has no artistic value and interferes with the passage of transport on ul. First of May.
The second life of the arch began in 1998, when the well-known Vladivostok entrepreneur Alexander Yermolayev decided to recreate it at his own expense. Since the drawings were not preserved, the look of the monument was restored according to old photographs, historical, archival and literary sources. May 16, 2003 the solemn opening of the arch took place.
Today, the Arch of Tsesarevich and the space around it are popular with citizens and tourists.
Admiral Square is one of the most picturesque in Vladivostok, beloved by residents and guests of the city.
The history of the square began in 1899, when an artificial garden was planted in its place, the first in the capital of Primorsky Krai.
Of course, much has changed since then, and now it is a comfortable and well-kept park in the very heart of the city: from here you can reach the Central Square and the House of Officers of the Pacific Fleet.
Going down to the sea, you will be taken to the Ship Embankment and you will see the C-56 submarine standing on it. In the square itself are the Triumphal Arch and the colorful temple of St. Andrew the First Called. Directly opposite it is the Central Arsenyev Museum.
Reconstruction of the square in 2010 made the appearance of the square more modern and stylish. A corner of nature in the middle of a bustling city will appeal to people who decide to take a break from the hustle and bustle and enjoy the sea view in silence.