On August 1, 1871, the first wooden church in the village of Nikolsky was consecrated by the bishop Benjamin. Having existed for more than forty years, it came into disrepair, and in 1914, in its place, the present, and still today, stone-built Holy Protection Church was built. The temple was built at the expense of the largest in Ussuriysk Nicholas Cathedral. Consecrated on September 28 of the same year by Archbishop Eusebius.
After October 1917, the church was nationalized. For several years, the Orthodox community of Ussuriysk tried to get the temple in its use. And in 1927 the temple was completely closed. They rebuilt it: they made it two-storied and opened a pioneer camp there. Then they gave the temple under the food warehouse market, and later they organized a hostel in it. The building collapsed, fell into disrepair.
In 1945 the church was handed over to the Russian Orthodox Church, and in 1945-1946, Japanese prisoners of war worked on its restoration. In 1946, the temple became operational again.
In 1946, Fr Nikolai became the first priest and rector of the church transferred to the church. After him, the priesthood was the former monk of the Holy Trinity Monastery of Shmakovsky, hieromonk Father Seraphim Protopopov.
From 1957 to 1967, the rector of the church was the congregation of the Holy Trinity monastery in Shmakovsky, who served before the rector of the Kazan Cathedral of God in Harbin and Archimandrite Clement Perestiuk (died in the rank of Bishop of Yekrinburg).
Since 1988, the rector of the temple – Archpriest Innokenty (the Tretyakov Vladislav Anatolyevich), the dean of the Western District.
The current state of the temple
There are two thrones in the church: the main is in honor of the Intercession of the Most Holy Theotokos and the other in the name of St. Paul of Thebes. The temple was built in the traditions of the Orthodox church architecture of the XIX century. The decoration of the facades used artistic techniques and architectural details characteristic of Russian buildings of the XVII century.
Shrines of the Intercession Church
Among the shrines of the temple are the peace-flowing Kazan Icon of the Mother of God, icons of St. Nicholas and the Kazan Icon of the destroyed Nikolsky Cathedral, the Ussuri icon of the “Embrace of the Father”, the Pochayev icon of the Mother of God and the ark with holy relics.
Address: Ussuriysk, st. Chicherin, 80-a
Telephone: (4234) 322-907, 322-668